Am I a Soldier of the Cross?

  Words of familiar hymns acquire new meaning when we read them as the prayers they are. In 1723, Isaac Watts wrote a prayer that became a classic hymn when set to music. In a hymnal I perused yesterday, the words of this prayer actually were set to three different tunes. Many have prayed this poignant prayer, although many may not have realized that it is in fact a prayer in which the singer asks God, “Am I a soldier of the cross, a follower of the Lamb? And shall I fear to own His cause or blush to speak His name? Must I be carried to the skies on flowery beds of ease while others fought to win the prize, and sailed through bloody seas? Are there no foes for me to face? Must I not stem the flood? Is this vile world a friend to grace, to help me on to God? Sure I must fight, if I would reign. Increase my courage, Lord! I’ll bear the toil, endure the pain, supported by Thy word. Thy saints, in all this glorious war, shall conquer, though they die; they view the triumph from afar, and seize it with their eye. When that illustrious day shall rise, and all Thy armies shine in robes of victory through the skies, the glory shall be Thine.

  We pray, as we sing this hymn, and search for our true identity of faith. “Am I a soldier of the cross?” Is our world a friend to grace, or must we endure persecution as we seek to follow Jesus?  We pray: “Sure I must fight, if I would reign. Increase my courage, Lord!” The church began and spread quickly in a culture that questioned, when it did not attack, its existence and validity as a movement of God’s Messiah. May this hymn’s prayer remind us as we sing it that we have no guarantees of cultural acceptance or approval. When our faith falters, may we pray (and sing) fervently, “Increase my courage, Lord!”
Am I a soldier of the cross, a follower of the Lamb? Are you? As we put on the armor of God, as we call for fire (pray), let’s remember that no matter how intense the conflict, our God will overcome. To him be all the glory. Amen.

About Michael Summers

Michael Waymon Summers has preached in twenty-seven of the United States as well as seven other countries. He currently preaches for a Church of Christ in Leavenworth, Kansas. Michael earned a Master of Theology degree. He also has done graduate work in international studies. Michael runs more than twenty miles most weeks, loves to sing, and reads voraciously.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Am I a Soldier of the Cross?

  1. Good post. In order to be a good soldier, we need obedience and to know His voice through His Word.

  2. ivanbenson says:

    Thanks for the reminder, today.

  3. Derek Ambrose says:

    Thanks. This is so affirming to my faith in God’s call to pray without ceasing and God will direct my path.

    • You’re welcome, Derek. The hymn, “Am I a Soldier of the Cross?” also reminds us of the importance of what military personnel call “PCI” or Pre-Combat Inspections – checking ourselves by the standard of God’s Word to make sure that our spiritual armor is in good repair and that we are prepared for spiritual combat.

  4. Randy says:

    Indeed the world is not a friend of grace thus making this a place that the Christian must endure persecution as they follow Jesus Christ. In fact, the Bible speaks of persecution as the norm for the Christian.

    I love the prayer from Isaac Watts. So much in that prayer that we can learn from.

    • Yes, Randy, 2 Timothy 3:12-13 says “In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.” I wonder how many stop in awe when they consider the prayer they are praying when they sing this hymn.

Leave a Reply

