A Prayer to Our Strength and Our Shield

“Praise be to the LORD, for he has heard my cry for mercy. The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song” (Psalm 28:6-7).

A positive answer to prayer produces joy. Whether a friend recovers from an illness or you get a new job, it’s time for celebration. Psalm 28 begins as a prayer of desperation and fear. The psalmist pleads with the Lord to hear him: To you I call, O LORD my Rock; do not turn a deaf ear to me. For if you remain silent, I will be like those who have gone down to the pit. Hear my cry to mercy as I call to you for help, as I lift up my hands toward your Most Holy Place” (Psalm 28:1-2). After asking that God will punish those who “show no regard for the works of the LOrd and what his hands have done,” the psalmist exults that God has granted his request rescue. He rejoices that the LORD is his strength and shield. He exclaims that he will give thanks in song. We often do the same, singing songs of grateful prayer to God, thanking him for loving us, thanking him for saving our souls.

He concludes with an exclamation of praise and a prayer that God will continue to guide his people. Perhaps these words are his song and prayer of thanks to God,

“The Lord is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one. Save your people and bless your inheritance; be their shepherd and carry them forever” (Psalm 28:8)

I will speak at Oliver Creek Church of Christ in Bartlett, TN on Sunday, June 22, at 5:30 pm and at Harding School of Theology’s chapel in Memphis, TN on Monday, June 23, at 11:00 am. If you’re nearby, you are invited. Pray hard.

About Michael Summers

Michael Waymon Summers has preached in twenty-seven of the United States as well as seven other countries. He currently preaches for a Church of Christ in Leavenworth, Kansas. Michael earned a Master of Theology degree. He also has done graduate work in international studies. Michael runs more than twenty miles most weeks, loves to sing, and reads voraciously.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

