A Prayer After Almost Slipping

“When I thought, ‘My foot is slipping,’ your steadfast love, O LORD held me up. When the cares of my heart are many your consolations cheer my soul” (Psalm 94:18-19).

In the midst of angry lament, one who had prayed for vengeance reveals vulnerable places in his history. If you have slipped while going down a stairway or a hillsides, you have known the moment of fear, the loss of breath, that accompanies that loss of control. A few weeks ago, I visited the hilltop pagoda that marks the traditional location where the city of Phnom Penh, Cambodia. As we left the beautiful shrine, our guide chose a route that was less steep than the stairs we had ascended to enter Wat Phnom. Though not so steep, the worn rocks were much slicker underfoot as we descended. More than once, I slipped and struggled to keep my balance. The Psalmist prays gratefully that when he thought he had lost all security and protection, his awareness of God’s love kept him going; he heard “consolations” that lifted his spirits.

I have discovered “consolations” from God when reading the prayers and teachings in the Bible. As a runner, I love the final verses of Isaiah 40 that speak of running but not growing weary. Much of Psalm is an angry prayer, but verses 18 and 19 introduce us to a worshiper who thanked God that he had survived times of darkness.

Thank you, Lord, for providing a way forward when all doors seem closed. Thank you for helping me to keep my balance when life goes awry. The words of your written revelation remind me that you are always there, even when I fear I am slipping. Thank you for reaching out to rescue. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Michael Summers

Michael Waymon Summers has preached in twenty-seven of the United States as well as seven other countries. He currently preaches for a Church of Christ in Leavenworth, Kansas. Michael earned a Master of Theology degree. He also has done graduate work in international studies. Michael runs more than twenty miles most weeks, loves to sing, and reads voraciously.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

