After the Death of My Son

I’m walking through the valley again this week as I mourn the unexpected sudden death of my son Caleb from natural causes. Pain wrenches my soul, and I have prayed prayers of angry lament, though realizing this time that God, my son, and I are not to blame. I thanked God for the time I had with my son, and we did share some wonderful adventures. Pray for our family as we navigate this terrible terrain.

Last night we had a wake for Caleb that many of his friends attended. We shared our hurt and our pain. We told our stories about a young man who cared for others and who loved to have fun with his friends. In addition to telling about my memories of Caleb, I shared these verses from Ecclesiastes 7:1-3:

“A good name is better than precious ointment, and the day of death than the day of birth. It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of easting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart.  Sorrow is better than laughter for by sadness of face the heart is made glad.”

Live your lives with love for others and tell them that you love them. Don’t fret about the past having  been better; enjoy the day that God has given you so that he can make the world better through you.  Pray hard, and trust.

About Michael Summers

Michael Waymon Summers has preached in twenty-seven of the United States as well as seven other countries. He currently preaches for a Church of Christ in Leavenworth, Kansas. Michael earned a Master of Theology degree. He also has done graduate work in international studies. Michael runs more than twenty miles most weeks, loves to sing, and reads voraciously.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to After the Death of My Son

  1. Sorry for your loss and pain brother. Prayers for comfort and strength.

  2. Arthur and Charlotte Pigman says:

    We will be praying for you and your family in this great loss of a son.

  3. leftnfree says:

    Sorry for your loss Michael. May God continue to bring comfort and strength to you and your household. I will be lifting you and your family up during this difficult time.

  4. leowoodman says:

    Praying for you and your family.

  5. John Henson says:

    Our tears flow and our prayers ascend for you and your family, Michael. God bless!

  6. Heidi Viars says:

    Dearest Brother, I am so sorry … please know I am praying for you

  7. I am praying that God will bring comfort that only He can give to you and your family.

  8. deborah ann says:

    I know the grief you are going though as I lost my 39 years old son suddenly 8 months ago. My heartfelt prayers for you and your family. Deborah Ann

  9. Deepest sympathies, and thanks for the loving lesson

  10. dkbonde says:

    You are not alone. Others have walked this valley. And we think of you.

  11. linda vaughan says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Caleb was a once in a lifetime friend and the pain of losing him has been more than overwhelming. I cannot imagine what you and your family are going through. I send lots of prayers to you all, and if I could, a big Caleb bear hug for comfort.

  12. I’m so very sorry your family’s time with Caleb has been cut short on this side of heaven. I can’t imagine how deep the hurt must be. Yes, we need to pray hard and trust–thank you for reminding us of this, even during your time of grief.

    Healing blessings of peace ~ Wendy ❀

  13. Rafael Moreno says:

    Brother Michael Summers, My deepest condolences to you, your wife and family on the death of your son, Caleb. I pray that all affected may find strength and comfort in the Lord, the God of all comfort (2 Cor. 1:3-4).

  14. Michael, I am sorry to hear about your Son passing.

Leave a Reply

